Step-By-Step

 

Hello Friends!

Kinda doing something different when it comes to the daily art uploads this week. Since the beginning of this month I’ve been working on an 11″ x 17″ (297 mm x 420 mm) illustration of Elsa from Frozen, Bobby Drake/Iceman from X-Men and Jack Frost from Rise of the Guardians in an homage parody of Spider-Man & His Amazing Friends.

By now I usually would be complete but for this piece I wanted to go slow and test my inking skills by only using nibs and ink.  That’s right, so far a good 96-ish% of this piece is done in purely nib. The circle on Elsa’s belt and the energy blast are done with different items, (tech pen for the belt circle and a compass with a ruling pen attachment for the belt). I’m enjoying how this is coming out so far and I’m trying to take it section by section so I don’t rush and fuck-up.  As of this writing though I’m working on the background with a stipple effect using a sharpened matchstick.

I’m very surprised at how much personality and energy I’m getting from doing this. I think the only problem is that I originally planned to have light stippling around Iceman’s Ice Slide and have the rest be a flat black, but after an interesting critique from my roommate I went back and did the rest with stipple…..the downside is that it’s extended my work time.  Every bit of progress on the background takes about 30 minutes to an hour, NOT-FUN, but they do say to be an artist you have to be a bit insane.

I think this print will turn out really nice and become one of my better pieces.  All of this makes me excited for INKtober though, I can’t wait to put what I really learned into more practice.

To stay up to date with the progress of my work on this piece please be sure to follow my Facebook or Instagram feeds.

 

‘Til Next Time,
Stay Frosty

Leave a Reply

