Hand-E Book V

 

Hello Friends,

Seems I’ve been a bit busy this week. I’ve felt as if I have been running in circles again and I needed to cleanse the pallet, so to speak. This week I’ve found myself using a lot of Faber-Castell pens again and playing around with gray sketching.

The Faber pens are good for quick sketching. Since they don’t blend particularly well like markers it’s hard to lay down color and get a nice even faded blending.  This is most likely because they are India Ink based pens instead of the alcohol solution found in markers like COPIC or Prismacolor.

That’s not to say that I wasn’t able to or can’t work with them, it was just a small learning curve and retraining myself. The Faber pens seem to work better as Fashion & Architectural design pens and less for Cartooning, which isn’t TOO much of a problem for me as I really want to use my sketchbooks more and more as experimental avenues.

I will need to buy a few more grays though so I can get a better range of tones. But I can say one of the bigger downsides of buying Faber pens is transporting them; it would be nice if they made a little convenient wallet to carry a small amount similar to COPIC….oh well…

 

‘Til Next Time,
Stay Frosty

Leave a Reply

