Hand-E Book II

 

Hello Friends!

Not as many sketches this time because like I said last week I want to start playing around more with my sketchbook.  I don’t want to just draw for the sake of it but draw to understand. Besides the design of Daphne (future character in my webcomic), the other 3 images in this week’s post were attempts at something new or another take on something I know, if that makes any sense.

For example in the image of Iceman and Elsa, I was playing around more with watercolor and trying to play with quick sketching with wet media and the kuretake color brush. And the bikini girl was more of a practice with angles positioning but once I got going I wanted to play with shadows.

The biggest challenge though was the ink sketches. I was using a fountain pen most of the time and I can’t say 100% if it was the pen that was skipping a lot or if it was the paper, so I’ll have to do a few more next week and come back with the results. Overall though my Hand-E Book is really holding up, if Global Art Inc. just released them with different types of paper I would say that they can run with the Stillman & Birn books, but as of right now they hold a strong second.  But still great books if you need a small sketchbook to have on you if inspiration hits.

That’s all for this week, the move went smoothly(-ish) so now I’m getting back into the groove of things. Here’s hoping for some breakthroughs next week!

 

‘Til Next Time,
Stay Frosty

Leave a Reply

