Strathmore III

 

Hello Friends!

With my Zeta book done I’ve now moved on to working back full time in my Strathmore Tan book. The last few posts I’ve mentioned how I hated the smoothness of it and winced on and on about how it’s not like the Kona book I was once using……..and that hasn’t really changed much.

This past week has been a bit crazy and with the fluctuating weather in NY, I’ve been feeling a bit extra tired and worn out so I think that’s affecting how I’ve been drawing. I just can’t get a foot hold on what I want to do with this sketchbook. Midway through the week I was breaking out the old conté crayons and having a bit of a go, as you can see with the hand images above. I’m getting a good vibe from using conté again, but again without at least a bit more texture in the book I don’t feel I’m getting the most out of it and I can’t get the full blend effect I’m going for.

I guess I’ll just have to keep trucking on and maybe it’ll come to me.  Although the ironic thing is that the cover of the sketchbook has the texture I’m looking for, talk about a bait and switch.

‘Til Next Time,
Stay Frosty

Leave a Reply

