Zeta Final

 

Hello Friends!

Here we are, the first sketchbook of 2015 complete. And the big question is “What have I learned?” One of the bigger things was about watercolor and water soluble graphite.  Thanks to the Stillman & Birn Zeta sketchbook handling washes quite well, I was able to free myself up a bit and really practice with the mediums. Field sketches like the airport and cabin images above have a different energy when you apply watercolor as opposed to using ink.

It feels a bit freer and I don’t find myself thinking as much, which is a nice change of pace. I can just move with how the piece or sketch is developing and not worry as much as I do like when I do an ink drawing.

Speaking of which, I find it funny I wanted to use this sketchbook as an inking sketchbook but it wound up being used for watercolor practice. Interesting how that worked out.  The Zeta sketchbook though has been one of my all time favorite sketchbooks and I’m curious to continue trying out other books from the Stillman & Birn line.  If you have the funds you should really check them out they are amazing sketchbooks and really worth the money.

‘Til Next Time,
Stay Frosty

Leave a Reply

