Sketch Card Sunday 4/14/2013 (Special Edition!!)

Hello Friends,

With MoCCAfest 2013 over and the dust settled I’m happy to report I made a total of $60 and sold 6 of my original 9 sketch cards. I also sold through half of my books. All and all I have to say that this MoCCA was completely better than last year.

If I wasn’t so damned tired from the combo of work the day after the con I would be able to do more in-depth posts, but being the one-man creator that I am I tend to get pulled in all directions.  MoCCA news aside, the blog is officially 1-year-old now (last Wednesday was when this blog went live one year ago)!  I’m surprised at the level of dedication I’ve been able to show, usually I suck at updating on a regular basis but I’m happy to say that I’m fixing this habit slowly but surely.

Enough jibba-jabba, let’s get on to the sketch card!

Batgirl (Cassandra Cain)
Batgirl (Cassandra Cain)

This is fan-favorite DC comics heroine, Cassandra Cain (aka Batgirl II).  Cassandra is my favorite Batgirl and I feel she is leaps and bounds a more interesting character than Stephanie Brown (the first in-continuity female Robin and later Batgirl III).  Cassie was born to fight, kill and destroy and her whole character arc was “nature vs nurture” and she friggin’ EARNED the mantle of Batgirl and fought to prove that she deserved to be on Batman’s team and to fight against the darkness that she was born into.

Drawing Cassie in her first costume is easy but not much wiggle room with the color department, which kinda blows when you only got a blue-line pencil and a brush pen.  True you can do a lot with those alone but I like doing multiple fabric folds and hatching.  But c’est la vie….

 

But wait, there’s more to be had in this special edition of SCS!  Gentlemen, Behold!

 

Kara Zor-El, Supergirl
Kara Zor-El, Supergirl

This is a 6″x9″ COPIC drawing of Supergirl (yeah, I’m a little addicted to those markers now).  Her costume is kind of a cross-combo of her various looks over the years.  I know this isn’t a sketch card but, hey, who doesn’t like getting a bonus drawing now and again.
Enjoy the pics dear friends and I’ll catch ya here next week.

‘Til Next Time
Stay Frosty

Leave a Reply

